I started my new job so I have been working the last month. My spare time has disappeared and been replaced with a pay cheque.

I did manage to finish off a baby quilt for my cousin who is having twins! They are supposed to be two girls. And yes, I knew they were girls when I picked out the fabrics. Why does everything for girls have to be pink? I don’t understand how blues and greens are for boys, they are the colours of nature.

I had it rolled/folded up so it is wrinkly in the pictures. I haven’t washed it yet but it will most likely get pretty crinkly when I do.

Quilt for Twin 1

It is a very simple pattern. The prints are Playday in Spring by SEI. Sashing is Kona Pacific. Binding is Kona Orange.

Quilt for Twin 1

I love looking at the quilts with neutral sashing and classy binding,  but I always end up far away from neutral!

Quilt for Twin 1

The backing is the elephants in rows on green used in the top quilt. The orientation for the quilt is reversed on the back.

Quilt for Twin 1

The quilting is just shadowed on either side of the seams down the columns. I didn’t have much time so it was a quick way to make it happen.

The last quilt I did had denser straight line quilting. I liked it but I found the drape strange. I also suspected less dense quilting is warmer.

Quilt for Twin 1

So now I have to make another. Oi. I have the prints cut out and that is it. I bought some extra white with the blue birds to use for sashing. I’m not sure how I can finish it in time because she is due in August. I am tempted to just make a couple of dresses, kimonos, softies or something small to go with the quilt. However, everyone says two quilts for twins.

